top of page

De donde vengo

[soundtrack]


Vengo de echarle limón a la risa y a las penas Y de romper las cadenas Que me atan a la razón


Muerdo - "De donde vengo" (From where I come) (2018)



Try to meet people from Murcia and they will initiate you into the importance of the lemon and the Estrella de Levante. Both are highlights to this colourful city in the South East of Spain and both are a statement. My visit was during the Spring Festival, called Fiestas de Primavera, and every corner of the city was filled with flowers of every color. I was amazed to see so many people drinking and eating in the streets and avenues, while laughing and dancing.

This Spring Festival gathers the famous and typical Bando de La Huerta and Entierro de la Sardina. Both celebrating years of traditions and the importance of flowers, fruits and vegetables cultivated in the region. These years of traditions were easily seen in the hundreds of people dressed with the traditional costumes, the joy in the kids' faces and how my friends showed me their beloved city and typical food. And let's not forget the proud drinking moment with the beer Estrella de Levante, almost a patron of the city.

I have to admit, I now feel a little bit from Murcia... but the truth is that this love story goes way back to last year, when I was starting my EVS project with two girls from this city. Back then, I didn't know you could put lemon in EVERY food you ate (french fries, soup, rice and the list goes on). Besides being an important producer and exporter of lemons, Murcia has a deep love story with this citric fruit. Some people may even say they have lemon juice running in their veins.

Later on, I would discover that travelling to Hungary would mean travelling to Spain as well. And now, visiting this city for the first time is like meeting again great friends after you said goodbye, months before. It is like knowing the place even before going there.





~~





Tente conhecer pessoas de Múrcia e eles vão iniciá-lo(a) na importância do limão e da Estrella de Levante. Ambos são destaques para esta cidade colorida do sudeste de Espanha e ambos são uma afirmação. A minha visita foi durante o Festival da Primavera, chamado Fiestas de Primavera, e cada canto da cidade estava preenchido com flores de todas as cores. Fiquei maravilhada por ver tantas pessoas a beber e comer nas ruas e avenidas, enquanto riam e dançavam. Este Festival da Primavera reúne os famosos e típicos Bando de La Huerta e Entierro de la Sardina. Ambos comemoram anos de tradições e a importância das flores, frutas e legumes cultivados na região. Estes anos de tradições eram facilmente observados nas centenas de pessoas vestidas com trajes tradicionais, a alegria nos rostos das crianças e na forma como as minhas amigas me mostravam a sua amada cidade e comida típica. E não podemos esquecer o orgulhoso momento de beber a cerveja Estrella de Levante, quase um padroeiro da cidade. Eu tenho de admitir, agora sinto-me um pouco de Múrcia... mas a verdade é que esta história de amor remonta ao ano passado, quando eu estava a iniciar o meu projeto SVE com duas raparigas desta cidade. Naquela altura, eu não sabia que poderias pôr sumo de limão em TUDO o que comesses (batatas fritas, sopa, arroz e a lista continua). Além de ser um importante produtor e exportador de limões, Múrcia tem uma profunda história de amor com este citrino. Algumas pessoas podem até afirmar que têm sumo de limão a correr-lhes nas veias. Mais tarde, eu descobriria que viajar para a Hungria também significaria viajar para Espanha. E agora, visitar esta cidade pela primeira vez é como encontrar novamente grandes amigas depois da despedida, meses antes. É como conhecer um local antes mesmo de visitá-lo.




Murcia in Spring is color and flowers

The best two guide tours

Flowers made in Murcia

Lady of Fuensanta Sanctuary / Santuario de Nuestra Señora de la Fuensanta

Love story with a lemon

Happy to meet a lady huertana

Tags:

55 views
bottom of page