top of page

A thousand miles away

You're a thousand miles away-ay

But I still have your love to remember you by

The Heartbeats - "A Thousand Miles Away" (1957)

[2015] The first time I traveled there I wanted to meet new friends and spend a great week during the Summer. It was July and the sun was high in the sky. I was going to have a Summer Course about Materials Science and I was more than excited. By the end, my impressions of the people living in that country could be resumed in very serious and not very friendly-looking. Also, I met crazy organisers (in the good way!) and I tasted THE lángos (typical food).


[2018] Almost three years later, here I go again. This time I thought my heart would drop in the airplane. When it landed, I noticed the sun was not high in the sky. Instead, the snow was everywhere painting the floor and it was so cold I was trembling more than before.

Now, it is time for YOU (the person who is in the other side trying to survive the suspense) to do the million dollar question: "Lila, why would you travel there again?". Actually is a great question (and no, it was not because of the lángos). I hope you will find the answer soon.




~~




[2015] A primeira vez que viajei para lá, eu queria conhecer novos amigos e ter uma ótima semana durante o Verão. Era Julho e o sol estava alto no céu. Eu ia frequentar um Curso de Verão sobre Ciência dos Materiais e estava mais do que entusiasmada. Para o final, as minhas impressões das pessoas que viviam no país poderiam ser resumidas em muito sérias e com ar pouco amigável. Também conheci organizadores loucos (no bom sentido!) e provei O lángos (prato típico).


[2018] Quase três anos depois, lá vou eu novamente. Desta vez, pensei que o meu coração fosse saltar dentro do avião. Quando o avião aterrou, reparei que o sol não estava alto no céu. Em vez dele, a neve pintava o solo por todo o lado, e estava tanto frio que me fazia tremer mais do que antes.

Agora, é altura de TU (a pessoa que está do outro lado a tentar sobreviver ao suspense) fazeres a questão do milhão de dólares: "Lila, porque irias viajar para lá novamente?". Realmente é uma excelente questão (e não, não foi por causa do lángos). Espero que encontres a resposta em breve.



Admiring the Chain Bridge from the back of a bus

The glorious of the Liberty Statue


Tags:

118 views
bottom of page