top of page

Complexion

[soundtrack]

Complexion (two-step) Complexion don't mean a thing (it's a Zulu love) Complexion (two-step) It all feels the same (it's a Zulu love)

Kendrick Lamar - Complexion (A Zulu Love) (2015)

"Hey black girl!" He was smiling like he was calling me by my name. I simply looked at him and kept walking.

This happened a few weeks ago and it made me think about the meaning of complexion. Is it true that the complexion doesn't mean a thing? For me, growing up in a place where there were only some people like me, made me think that I was different.

Now in Székesfehérvár (the ninth largest city of the country), it seems that the complexion hits again. When I walk in the streets I usually don't see a lot of people like me and I notice that I may be a surprise for a lot of people, as well. Meeting two of them in a bar turned up to be as surprising. Apparently a black girl coming from Portugal who perfectly speaks portuguese seemed to be incredible for them (and they were the same age as me!). A lot of times, the children look at me with eyes so open that tell they have never seen a person like me before.

Here, I learn that the complexion may mean something... However, it is just a matter of embrancing it. Embrancing that we all may seem different for the others' eyes and that is not necessarily bad. Difference is good and who does not think the same (here or anywhere), may go somewhere I will not mention here.




~~




"Hey black girl!" Ele estava a sorrir como se me estivesse a chamar pelo meu nome. Eu simplesmente olhei para ele e continuei a andar.

Isto aconteceu há umas semanas e fez-me pensar no significado de tom de pele. É verdade que o tom de pele não tem nenhum significado? Para mim, crescer num lugar onde viviam poucas pessoas como eu, fez-me pensar que eu era diferente.

Agora em Székesfehérvár (a nona maior cidade do país), parece que o tom de pele volta a ser um assunto. Quando ando na rua, normalmente não vejo tantas pessoas com eu e percebo que posso ser uma surpresa para muitas também. Conhecer duas delas num bar tornou-se também surpreendente. Aparentemente uma rapariga negra vinda de Portugal, que fala perfeitamente português, parecia ser incrível para eles (e eles tinham a minha idade!). Muitas vezes, as crianças olham para mim com olhos tão abertos que dizem que nunca viram alguém como eu.

Aqui, eu aprendo que o tom de pele pode significar algo... No entanto, é apenas uma questão de aceitá-lo. Aceitar que todos podemos parecer diferentes aos olhos dos outros e que isso não tem de ser necessariamente mau. A diferença é bem-vinda e quem não pensa da mesma forma (aqui ou em qualquer lugar), pode ir a um certo sítio que não vou mencionar aqui.





Tags:

70 views
bottom of page