top of page

Reality check

[soundtrack]

Opportunity knockin'

It's finally time to answer

Noname - "Reality check" (2016)

Right in Central Europe, we can find Hungary. A relatively small country where around 10 million people live. A few months ago, I became one of them and I started to live in the center of Székesfehérvár. I do my groceries every week in TESCO or SPAR and I recently found another option: AUCHAN. I walk in the streets with a confidence greater than ever (well, sometimes that confidence goes by the road, but that can be a topic for other posts) and I even try to speak hungarian when I meet some local people.

Basically, I live in Hungary. Now that I think about it, it is so strange how easily it is to say it. But yes, it should be easy already. I moved in March and I adapted. Easier or harder, I did it. I came here to volunteer for a year in an EVS program, I already know amazing people, I made friends and I am not leaving here so soon.




~~





Bem na Europa Central, podemos encontrar a Hungria. Um país relativamente pequeno, onde vivem cerca de 10 milhões de pessoas. Há alguns meses, eu tornei-me numa delas e comecei a viver no centro de Székesfehérvár. Faço as minhas compras todas as semanas no TESCO ou SPAR e recentemente descobri outra opção: AUCHAN. Ando nas ruas com uma confiança maior do que nunca (bem, às vezes essa confiança vai pela estrada, mas isso pode ser um assunto para outros artigos) e até tento falar húngaro quando conheço algumas pessoas locais.

Basicamente, eu vivo na Hungria. Agora que penso nisso, é tão estranho como é fácil dizê-lo. Mas sim, já deveria ser fácil. Eu mudei-me em Março e adaptei-me. De forma mais fácil ou mais difícil, fi-lo. Vim em voluntariado por um ano num programa SVE, já conheço pessoas incríveis, fiz amigos e não vou sair daqui tão cedo.



Streets of Székesfehérvár during March 2018

Kati Néni statue in Székesfehérvár (Rubbing the nose gives luck!)

Staring at Budapest

Szechenyi Spa Baths in Budapest

Gulyas and THE lángos

bottom of page