top of page

Window

[soundtrack]

Quit looking out the window, go find yourself Come get the bag with your kinfolk, don't doubt your wealth Quit looking out the window, go find yourself Come get the bag with your kinfolk


Noname, Phoelix - "Window" (2018)



Why do we travel? Why do we leave our comfort zone or our homes, following some travel guide that shows us the right place to try that amazing typical food? A guide that makes us look for the most known monuments and galleries, or the best sights? Is it because we are really interested on how local people live, to take a glimpse of the countries' history, or to collect countries like we would collect stamps and to simply run away of our lovely routine?

Concerning myself, I had to think to answer this question. It is not so simple, I may travel for all those reasons. I may also travel because I want to make sense of what surrounds me, to see different perspectives of a place we call Earth and to enrich my life experience.


What about you?


I met Elmur (I am not sure how his name is written, unfortunately) during a train travel in Romenia, back in August. And I think I understood why he traveled. The first I noticed was his deep blue eyes and his funny hat. He could be sixty or seventy years old. He was telling he had been around Europe and in many african countries working, such as Nigeria. That immediately made me think about a book I am reading from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, about the Biafran War. I don't know if that was the reason I felt so connected to his words. But for a brief second, it seemed that I was standing in front of a window watching his life, a life with suffering, full of knowledge and so much hope at the same time. Just by looking at him, it was like I knew him. It was so moving to see how humble and generous he was while he was wishing me a happy life, a person he had met just some minutes before.

I want to travel to be more like him, to feel connected to strangers and to see the sadness and happiness on their eyes, to talk to people I meet in trains, to laugh with a friend I have met half an hour before... to be more tolerant and more human.




~~

Porque razão viajamos? Porque deixamos a nossa zona de conforto ou as nossas casas, seguindo um guia de viagem que nos mostra o lugar certo para experimentar aquela comida típica incrível? Um guia que nos faz procurar os monumentos e galerias de arte mais conhecidos, ou os melhores miradouros? Será porque estamos realmente interessados ​​em como as pessoas locais vivem, para ter um vislumbre da história dos países, ou para colecionar países como colecionaríamos selos e simplesmente fugir da nossa amada rotina? Quanto a mim, tive que pensar ao responder esta pergunta. Não é assim tão simples, eu posso viajar por todas essas razões. Eu também posso viajar porque quero fazer sentido ao que me rodeia, ver diferentes perspectivas de um lugar a que chamamos Terra e para enriquecer a minha experiência de vida.

E quanto a ti?

Eu conheci o Elmur (não sei como o seu nome é escrito, infelizmente) durante uma viagem de comboio na Roménia, em Agosto. E acho que entendi porque ele viajava. A primeira coisa que notei foram os seus profundos olhos azuis e o seu chapéu engraçado. Ele deveria ter sessenta ou setenta anos de idade. Ele estava a contar que já tinha estado na Europa e em muitos países africanos a trabalhar, como a Nigéria. Isso imediatamente me fez pensar no livro que estou a ler da Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, sobre a Guerra do Biafra. Não sei se foi por isso que me senti tão ligada às suas palavras. Mas por um breve segundo, foi como se eu estivesse em frente a uma janela a ver a sua vida, uma vida com sofrimento, cheia de conhecimento e muita esperança ao mesmo tempo. Apenas por olhar para ele, era como se o conhecesse. Foi tão comovente ver como ele era humilde e generoso enquanto me desejava uma vida feliz, a uma pessoa que ele tinha conhecido apenas alguns minutos antes. Eu quero viajar para ser mais parecida com ele, para me sentir conectada a pessoas desconhecidas e ver a tristeza e felicidade nos olhos delas, conversar com pessoas que conheço em comboios, rir com um amigo que conheci há meia hora antes... para ser mais tolerante e mais humana.

Looking out the window

Waiting is not so bad if you are not alone

(on the way to Romenia)

An inspiring wall, somewhere in Vienna


Tags:

43 views
bottom of page